FAQ - Driving Record Access
Get it Online
Obtain a certified copy of your own driving record on our myMVD website; please be aware that the myMVD online service is for individual use by persons conducting their own transactions.
A certified driving record is your official driving record certified by the Iowa DOT and can be used for official or legal purposes. The fee is $5.50 plus a $1.50 service charge.
View or Print Non-Certified Copies
If you simply want to view your Iowa driving history or print a non-certified copy, you can do that for free through the myMVD website.
Businesses & Organizations Seeking Records
If you are a business or organization seeking driving record information, please access the Iowa Certified Driver's Licence Records page.
Get it by Mail
Obtain a copy of your certified driving history through the mail. The fee is $5.50.
You can also obtain a traffic ticket(s), previously issued driver's license applications showing license history in Iowa, or any other document, for a cost of $0.50 per copy.
Mailed Request Requirements
For all requests that are sent by mail, you will need to complete the Privacy Act Agreement For Request of Motor Vehicle Records (PDF) form. Please clearly state the type of record you are requesting. If you are requesting this information for yourself, you only need to complete Section A and Section D.
Mail the completed form, a copy of your driver's license or non-driver identification card, and a check for the appropriate amount made payable to "Treasurer, State of Iowa" to:
Office of Driver Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204