Conference Board

The Hardin County Conference Board serves as the governing board for the office of the County Assessor. The Conference Board has the responsibility of appointing members of the Examining Board, members of the Board of Review, and the Assessor. 

The Conference Board is charged with:
  • Establishing and adopting an annual budget for the assessor.
  • Approving the position of deputy assessor and the number of deputy assessors.
  • Reappointing the assessor and employ appraisers and other technical help.
The Assessor is appointed by the Conference Board to a six-year term.

Conference Board Membership

The Conference Board consists of:
  • Mayors of all incorporated cities whose property is assessed by the County Assessor.
  • One representative from the Board of Directors of each high school district who is a resident of the county.
  • Members of the County Board of Supervisors.
Each unit has one vote and two of the three units have to agree in order to pass a vote on any related matter. The chairperson of the Board of Supervisors shall act as the chairperson of the County Conference Board and the County Assessor as clerk.


Board of Supervisors

  • Lance Granzow, Chairman
  • BJ Hoffman, Member
  • Reneé McClellan, Member


  • Mike Nuss – Ackley
  • Jeff Fiscus – Alden
  • Bill Hittle – Buckeye
  • David Dunn – Eldora
  • Marshall Simmerman – Hubbard
  • Michael Emerson – Iowa Falls
  • Dennis Reece – New Providence
  • James Nehring – Owasa
  • Taylor Roll – Radcliffe
  • Timothy Stearns – Steamboat Rock
  • Cindy Clemons – Union
  • Erin Cross – Whitten

School Board Members

  • Gabby Fistler – Ackley
  • Jon Bartlett – Alden
  • Alan Donaldson – BCLUW
  • Breanne Butler – Eldora-New Providence
  • Jacob Bolson– Hubbard-Radcliffe
  • Dawn Parker – Iowa Falls