What is classification?
Real Estate parcels are annually assigned a property classification by the assessor. This classification is to be consistent with the primary use of the property. There are four classifications of property in Iowa. These classes are agricultural, residential, commercial, and industrial. Classification may not necessarily be the same as the zoning of the property.

Show All Answers

1. What is classification?
2. When are assessment notices mailed?
3. How is my property value determined?
4. What if I disagree with the assessed value of my property?
5. My assessment has not changed, so why have my property taxes increased?
6. What is taxable value?
7. What is a rollback?
8. What is a Levy Rate?